Skip to content

Your Council

Your Council

Updated 21 January 2022 11:14am

Greater Wellington Regional Council is a statutory body made up of 13 regional councillors, representing six constituencies.

Every person 18 years and over is eligible to vote in local body elections, which are held every three years.

The Greater Wellington Regional Council is responsible for developing policies that direct the activities of the Council. Various Acts of Parliament, such as the Local Government Act 2002 and the Resource Management Act 1991 state what activities the Council should, or may, be involved with. It is the Councillors' role to decide how the activities should be carried out. Councillors must abide by Standing Orders and the Councillor Code of Conduct.