Skip to content

Te Upoko Taiao - Natural Resources Plan Committee

Te Upoko Taiao - Natural Resources Plan Committee

Updated 2 March 2021 3:08pm

Greater Wellington Regional Council launched Te Upoko Taiao - Natural Resources Plan Committee in October 2009. This committee was set up to promote the sustainable management of the region’s natural and physical resources, particularly their use, development and protection. It oversees the Council’s regulatory responsibilities in relation to resource management, including the review and development of regional plans.

The Committee comprises six elected Greater Wellington Regional councillors and six appointed members from the region's mana whenua.

The Local Government Act 2002 includes several provisions that require councils to take account of the principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi (the Treaty of Waitangi) by maintaining and improving opportunities for Maori to contribute to local government decision making. Most regional, city and district councils have some kind of formal mechanism for involving local iwi.

Greater Wellington Regional Council already has a Memorandum of Partnership signed by the six iwi in the region and has an active relationship with these iwi. Each iwi has a different rohe and each was invited to nominate somebody with the skills that the committee requires.

Although the Maori members will be nominated by the region’s “mana whenua” iwi, like the six elected councillor members, their role is to ensure that the new regional plan provides for the region as whole.

Greater Wellington Regional Council membership

Cr Jenny Brash – Co-Chair

Cr Ros Connelly

Cr Penny Gaylor

Cr David Lee

Cr Thomas Nash

Cr Adrienne Staples

Other membership

Bill Carter  Ātiawa ki Whakarongotai Charitable Trust

Hikitia Ropata  Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira Inc

TBA – Ngā Hapū ō Ōtaki

TBA – Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairarapa Charitable Trust

TBA – Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust

TBA – Rangitāne ō Wairarapa Inc

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference for Te Upoko Taiao Natural Resources Plan Committee