Skip to content

Historic Heritage User Guide

Historic Heritage User Guide

Updated 3 July 2015 2:30pm

The Historic Heritage User Guide aims to help people understand the different types of historic heritage values associated with places, sites and areas. The guide contains criteria for assessing historic heritage values and the significance of places in a regionally consistent way and in a common language that everyone can understand and use. The criteria are designed to be used by local authorities, community groups and others to evaluate the significance of historic heritage places, sites and areas.

What is historic heritage?

The Resource Management Act 1991 and the proposed Regional Policy Statement define historic heritage asthe natural and physical resources that contribute to an understanding and appreciation of New Zealand’shistory and cultures, deriving from any of the following qualities:

  • Archaeological
  • Architectural
  • Cultural
  • Historic
  • Scientific
  • Technological

Historic heritage includes:

  • Historic sites, structures, places, and areas; and
  • Archaeological sites; and
  • Sites of significance to Māori, including wahi tapu; and
  • Surroundings associated with the natural and physicalresources

Why is historic heritage important?

Historic heritage provides a connection to those who lived before us. It helps us define who we are and contributes to our sense of place. Once destroyed, it cannot be replaced. Our history is found in both the tangible physical remains and in the intangible values associated with our ancestors.

How do I identify historic heritage?

This guide includes advice to help you identify historic heritage, including the need for a full and accurate understanding of a place’s history, and to evaluate all aspects of its significance. The criteria help ensure that nothing is overlooked.

Download the Historic Heritage User Guide